Skip to content

How I learned Hiragana and Katakana

August 12, 2011

Wow! My first post about Japanese 😉

I’ll begin my first post on explaining how I learned the two Japanese alpahbets – Hiragana and Katana. Believe it or not, it wasn’t hard at all. In fact, the only time I studied the alphabets was during my off period and government class *shifts eyes* haha. Keep in mind, this was durin Februrary through March of this year…

I’ll begin by first sharing the resources in which I learned the alphabets from.

I used two charts from Tofugu – Hiragana and Katakana. I printed these out and reviewed and learned a new row every morning. At each sitting, I would copy down each character until a row was completed and memorize. I then repeated the process continously.

For example, I studied あいうえお in one day, copying each kana until they were memorized. The next morning I made sure to review あいうえお, along with learning かきくけこ. I then made sure I memorized かきくけこ by the end of the day.

I’m not sure why, but charts make it easier for me to memorize things ^^; Of course, I would of studied more if I didn’t have school =-=;;

I also used this app called “Obenkyo”. You can download the app here

.

The app includes Hiragana and Katakana, and even different levels of Kanji according to the JLPT. I highly reccomend this app, as it is an easy way to learn on the go. It’s very useful for people who are busy or are out of the house. I went through each row any time I had free.

Anyways, that’s about it! Obviously, it’s not that difficult 😉 Just be patient and consistent!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

