Skip to content

The difference between 또 & 디시

August 18, 2011

Hi everyone! I just wanted to make a quick post on an encounter I had in my Yonsei Reader!

I was trying to do a matching section (and I failed horribly), and I really struggled! You see, one pair in the matching was 또, and the other was 다시. They both mean ‘again’.

In the end, the matching ended up being:

 : 제주도가 좋아서 이번 가을에 (            ) 가려고 해요. Since I liked Jeju, I intend to go again this fall.

다시: 질못 들었는데 (            ) 한 번 천천히 말씀해 주세요. I couldn’t hear you very well, so can you please say it a little slower this time?

So here is the difference:

또 is used to repeat something due to a positive incidence, or something reoccuring.
ex) 나중에 또 보자
I’ll see you again.

디시 is used to request that something needs to be done from the beginning, usually due to a mistake etc.
ex)다시는 거기에 안 갈 거야
I’ll never go there again.

PS: Sorry for the rough translations. This was literally the second time I translated something ><;;;

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2013 4:55 pm

    This was a great post! I was just wondering about this very subject.

Leave a Reply

