Skip to content

[GRAMMAR] ㄷ Irregular Verbs

January 16, 2012

Recently, I have been came across numerous verbs that end in ㄷ

These include verbs such as 걷다 (to walk), and 묻다 (to ask, to inquire). Unfortunatley, I have had trouble memorizing very important conjugation rules for these ㄷ verbs.

Here are the rules:

The ㄷ  stays if followed by a consonant

  • ex) 걷니다

But ㄷ changes to ㄹ if followed by a vowels

  • ex) 걸어요.
  • ex) 걸니까

I hope this helped you guys! I know these rules may not seem all that important, but it really does effect your speech and sound of fluency 😉

Keep in mind, despite this rule there are still regular ㄷ verbs such as:

  • 닫다 (to close –> 닫아요
  • 믿다 (to trust) –>믿어요
I’m not sure if there is any way knowing if these ㄷ verbs are irregular or not, so just familiarizing yourself with them would be my suggestion.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2012 3:26 pm

    I know this blog was a made a while ago and you’ve probably worked it out by now but 믿다 changes to 믿어요 not 믿다요.
    Anyway good luck with you mission this year of 10 words a day. Hope you are doing better than I did.

    • May 9, 2012 3:39 pm

      Haha! Sorry, I think I made a typo!

      This was made when I first was learning the Korean keyboard haha!!

      Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

