Skip to content

[GRAMMAR] -기로(는) When it comes to …-ing; as far as …-ing is concerned.

February 12, 2012

I was watching 인피니트 개알 플레이어 and saw this word ending -기로(는).

It basically adds the meaning when it comes to …-ing; as far as …-ing is concerned. You would most likely use it when you’re trying to convey your uncertainty about a subject, despite your lack of knowledge in order to emphasize your perspective.

EXAMPLE

1) 확실하지 않은데 내가 예측하기로는 옛날에 아프다고 병원 갔을 때 있잖아…
I’m not certain, but I’m predicting, in the past when I was sick we went to the hospital…

Example is courtesy of 인피니트 개알 플래이어.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 10:21 pm

    Your website is probably one of my all time favourites. Your determination inspires me – learning a new language is difficult enough, and, on top of that, you’re doing it on your own. And three languages at the same time! How inspiring, I can’t say it enough.

    What is your motivation?

    • February 12, 2012 11:03 pm

      Lisa! How have you been? I can’t thank you enough for your kind words! I can honestly say I feel like I haven’t accomplished much at all ><

      Learning foreign languages – especially Asian languages – is something I really enjoy. I have always been intrigued by Asian cultures since second grade, but I have really only started learning the languages about a little more than a year ago. Learning a new language makes me feel comfortable and free – and it's something I can progress rapidly in without any form of stress.

      I think the thought of a lifestyle progression, a new culture, and different perspectives are what motivates me. As for Korean, the thought of a fast-paced lifestyle, an exciting nightlife, trendy coffee shops (silly, I know), different food, the unique music, and the notion of speaking a pretty language, really drives me to learn.

      I feel so much more connected and fluid when I learn these languages ^^ Truthfully, I really do feel like more doors open when I can speak more languages.

Leave a Reply

