Skip to content

Why is translating so… difficult?

February 24, 2012
tags:

In all my Korean learning experience, translating has got to be the most hardest task of all. Whenever I read Korean content, any sentence above 10 words will be very hard for me translate. I can only understand individual words, rather than combining them together to form an overall meaning.

I’ll give an example from a TTMIK 이야기.

이번 주제 통해서 저희가 어렸을 때 공부를 과연 열심히 했는지, 안 했는지 알 수 있을 것 같아요.”

I’ll know that:

  • 어번 주제 동해서= through this topic
  • 저회 어렸을때= when we were young
  • 공부를 과연 열심히 했는지=  Did not really study hard
  • 안 했는지= did not
  • 알 수 있을 것 같아요= I think you understand

And that’s where everything ends! I can get a feel for what the sentence is conveying but not entirely – and I won’t be able to translate it ti English.

What are some of the methods you use to dissect Korean sentences. What process do you go through in order to translate?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

