Skip to content

Translator Positions for the Summer

June 9, 2012
tags:

As most of you may or may not know, I have received two translator positions these past two weeks 😀 I now translate Infinite material for Apeiron Subs, and translate Super Junior related articles/tweets for @Everlastingfans. It has definitely been difficult in many ways, but completely rewarding in the end. My translating skills aren’t great all all, but I think these translator positions will help me improve. I used to translate for fun, but ended up giving up half way since I really had to need to translate. Having these positions definitely make me work since I receive assignments and have tasks I have to complete. I guess I’m just a lazy person haha! Speaking of which, I ended up translating Infinite Ranking King episode 2 for three days!

I found that translation videos was actually much more easier than translating articles. News articles use different language, I think. It’s more formal, with strange word orders. On the other hand, I can understand videos since they mostly contain “normal” and slang talk – which is something I’m more comfortable with.

For the article I just finished translating, I printed out the article and chicken-scratched the english translations in a notebook. After that, I typed it up on the blog editor where it’ll be posted soon – and so far it turned out better than I expected! I just hope that the translations were accurate enough ><;;

Anyways, I recommend all of you try to find translator positions if you’re studying Korean – or any lanugage. It really does help you stay focused and motivated. I found mine by tweeting, so you might be able to do the same! There are actually many positions for Korean translators.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2012 5:07 am

    Hi 🙂
    I joined B.O.N Funsubs as a translator. But I’m not be able to translate just by listening and watching the video. I still need to rely to Chinese Subs. But translating helps me a lot 🙂 Maybe I can try to translate article or tweets. Thanks !

    • June 10, 2012 5:09 am

      Congratulations on becoming a translator!

      Don’t worry, listening also takes me some time! Tweets are definitely easier since they are brief :3 Try it sometime 😀

      • June 10, 2012 5:16 am

        Thanks! And Congrats to you too 🙂
        May I know where I could find something like Apeiron Subs? but I’m searching for BEAST, IU and 2PM.

      • June 11, 2012 3:42 pm

        Just try @replying fanbases that you’re interested in translating on Twitter and they might RT it.

        Did you check b2strising forums? I think they have positions open :3

      • June 12, 2012 3:08 am

        Yes, I have checked it. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

