Skip to content

Yonsei Korean Reading 3

June 25, 2012

I can’t stress enough how helpful the Yonsei Readings are to self-learners. They are geared towards foreign learners so the level of reading is perfect for everyone studying Korean.  I like how the Yonsei Readings Series make you really feel that Korean is a living and breathing language – unlike the other textbooks that provide dry and useless examples.

I like how the Yonsei Readings uses simple language, but still sounds so ‘natural’ at the same time. Strangely,  I found this particularly level easier than the last one – but that may be due to the fact that I actually studied 연세 한국어 읽기 2 right before this so I was bound to make an easy transition.

The topics in this level are a bit different and can be considered somewhat strange. The topics range from grocery shopping methods to “Doctors without Borders”. But even if the subjects are a bit hard to relate to, the vocabulary that each passage provides are extremely helpful – and you can use them in everyday conversations.

I thought this was cute.

Unlike the previous level, this one is clearly separated into different ‘chapters’ that include: 취미, 일상, 건강, 공영과 삼상 사람, and more. With 10 chapters and 3 passages for every chapter, there are 30 different passages you can read from.

The activities in this level are a bit repetitive so it can get a little tedious but helpful nonetheless. The activities for each passage includes: “Vocabulary Practice”, “Understanding the Content”, and “Try Thinking More”. I found that these activities were actually somewhat easy – but I think it it due to the clarity and usefulness of the actual passages. “Understanding the Content”, and “Try Thinking More” questions can be a bit confusing at times, though.

Of course, another plus is the CD that comes with the book. With the CD, I can improve my listening skills even though I’m learning a textbook.

This is part of the second passage in the book~

In short, I’m not sure at which learner-level that this book is intended towards. I am at Level 8 with Talk to Me in Korean and this book seems to be right at my level. I have learned so many new vocabulary in just the few passages I have read. Being so, I would say that level 3 is aimed towards intermediate-beginner learners AKA someone who is able to translate articles and/or understand some of the dialogue in dramas. I uploaded an image for you to reference and assess yourself.

If you are not sure which level you should be purchasing, leave a comment and I’ll try to help you as best as I can. But no matter what ends up happening… BUY A YONSEI READING! They are extremely beneficial for self-learners becuase of the clarity and easiness of studying from them. Not to mention, the various graphics and illustrations are pleasing to the eye.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2012 12:20 am

    Mine is level 2…. will study hard to read this book ^_^
    It look interesting, isn’t it? ..

    • June 26, 2012 4:19 am

      It is definitely fun to read 😀 Have fun and take your time 😀 I wish I didn’t rush with level 2… haha ^^;;;

      • Eva. permalink
        August 4, 2016 6:55 am

        oh i just wanna asking u , im not living in the us im living in Arabic country so how could i get these books from can u help me plzzzz.

  2. June 28, 2012 8:44 pm

    Hello~
    I stumbled across this blog entry while looking up Korean textbooks. Like you, I’m self-studying Korean at the moment. I’ve been studying for about 3 months(?) now; just kind of on-and-off…I’ve never taken Korean language classes but rely on Kpop, Kdrama, and some ebooks I got off the internet to study.
    The Yonsei reading series seems really interesting, but I’m not sure which level will suit me the best. I think my level is at Sogang 1B. Also, I’ve been following TTMIK lessons and have finished level 4. (sorry my study materials are all over the place ;p)
    I took a look at Yonsei Reading 1 (part of the book), the passages are pretty short and easy to comprehend, so that makes me wonder if I should get level 2.
    Suggestion please? ^^

    • June 29, 2012 2:20 am

      Hi there! ^^

      I’d advocate for Level 2. Level 4 at TTMIK covers common grammar structures and verb endings which level 2 is filled with. Plus, the most of the sentences are either 10 words or less so it shouldn’t be difficult at all. If you found level 1 easy I would definitely try to move pass that. I found that I always learned much more from ‘harder’ books than the ‘easier’ ones since they provided no new information – especially since you are at level 4 with TTMIK, I think level 1 would definitely be a waste~ I think level 1 is geared towards beginners with an almost non-existent background with Korean texts.

      Don’t worry, my studying materials are scattered as well so it kind of makes it difficult to find appropriate resources.

      Good luck, and don’t hesitate to contact me for further information 🙂

  3. Julia permalink
    July 21, 2012 9:54 am

    Thanks for reviewing this! 🙂 I think I’ll order the level 4 one, or possibly both level 3 and 4. I think level 4 would suit me better as far as grammar goes, but my vocabulary is extremely weak so I might benefit from level 3 as well. Ah~ decisions, decisions haha.

    Btw, have you heard of Darakwon’s “Korean Grammar in Use” books? They go a bit deeper into the grammar than TTMIK, but they’re not overwhelmingly dry like most grammar books. I think you’d quite like them! I’ve been studying with them for around 6 months now and I can’t recommend them enough~

    • July 21, 2012 2:08 pm

      No problem~ Let me know if you have further questions, I’ll be glad to help ^^ I have never heard of the Darakwon books! I’ll definitely check them out ^^ Thanks so much for the recommendation 🙂

  4. October 21, 2012 5:14 pm

    I was looking for reviews of this book and that’s how I ended up here in your blog. I was actually confused about which level to buy, 3 or 4, but after reading this review I made up my mind to buy level 3. I *just* ordered it, it should arrive in a week or so! 🙂 Thanks for the review!

  5. Cyndi permalink
    January 22, 2013 5:55 am

    Hi! I’ve taken two semesters of elementary korean at my uni. Should I buy level 2 or 3? Thanks!

    • January 30, 2013 6:32 am

      I’m not sure what college classes cover, but I think level 2 will be a great review/stepping stone to try out ^^ Level 3 will be ok as well, but it may be a little more challenging.

  6. nur permalink
    September 1, 2013 12:09 am

    Hi 🙂

    im taking intermadiate classes of korean, what level should i buy?
    Thank you!!!

  7. nur permalink
    September 1, 2013 12:10 am

    Hi 🙂

    im taking intermediate classes of korean, what level should i buy?
    Thank you!!!

  8. Camz permalink
    January 18, 2016 4:14 am

    Do you know where to order this for a cheaper price? Thank you for the info.

  9. Eva. permalink
    August 4, 2016 6:58 am

    i wanna buy these books -crying face-.
    _but from where? give me the website that i can buy these books from.

Leave a Reply

