Skip to content

Studying Chemistry through Korean?!

September 2, 2012

Every since school started, I have been finding it really difficult to maintain my normal Korean studies. But luckily I found a solution: studying for classes through Korean.

For example, for my Chemistry class we’re learning the basics AKA atoms and the periodic table. While learning new vocabulary, I make sure to memorize the Korean parallel such as:

  • 원자: atom
  • 전자: electron
  • 양자: proton
  • 양이온: cation
  • 음이온: anion

This way not only can I learn Korean vocabulary words BUT it reinforces the actual concepts for the course. I’m literally being forced to know the English meaning of the term since I’m learning the Korean term.

It’s actually makes Chemistry… entertaining :p

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2012 5:04 am

    Great idea! You’ve inspired me to find the periodic table in Chinese. =)

    • September 5, 2012 5:22 am

      That’s awesome ^^ I hope you have lots of fun hehe 🙂

  2. September 5, 2012 8:48 pm

    This is really a great idea! I should try and do something similar for Japanese ^^ By the way I love your blog, its a great source of inspiration when it comes to language learning ^^

    • September 6, 2012 11:01 pm

      Totally! Let me know how it works for you~

      Really?! I’m so touched *^^* I hope you’ll continue to read my posts in the future 😉

  3. September 11, 2012 2:27 pm

    hahahha this is totally awesome!

Leave a Reply

