Skip to content

기탄국어 Series

October 24, 2012

I purchased the 가탄국어 Level G5 textbook while in Koreatown Plaza at the 정음사 Korean Textbook Center. They actually had a lot of volumes to choose from so it was really hard to choose! There are 5 books in each level, with a total of 10 levels (A단계-J단계).

I really like the covers of these books

The salesclerk was and I had a conversation in Korean since he was really curious who I bought the book for becuase of the level of difficulty and my /foreigner/ appearance. I ended up getting more free textbooks and a Korean flag because of my Korean speaking skills haha! I totally would go back again just because of the friendly service.

When I got home, I realized how easy the book was! I chose to not go to the H level because the subjects seemed more… dry. I found that I never really read textbooks with dry content so I end up always wasting money.

As you can see, the passages are really simple to read!

After each little story, there are a set of easy questions. Really fun to do and a great stress reliever.

Overall, I do recommend this series. Even though it is made for elementary students, I’ve learned a few new vocabulary and actually enjoyed the stores. I scanned the upper level books and they also appeared really easy… but somewhat boring.

The prices for these cute textbooks are are around $6 online, but I purchased mine for $12 since it was at Koreatown 😛 At least I didn’t pay for shipping, right?

I’ll be sure to continue reading these textbooks since it’s really fun to use~

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2012 7:45 am

    These books are cute. I can’t wait to be on the high enough level to read them.

    • October 27, 2012 4:50 pm

      They really are haha!! I’m sure you speak Korean just fine! They have really basic books as well~ Be sure to check them out *^^*

      • October 27, 2012 5:06 pm

        I really am just a beginner. 🙂 Thanks for letting me know

Leave a Reply

