Skip to content

How I memorized the Korean Keyboard

November 9, 2012

Ok. So technically I didn’t sit there and /memorize/ the keyboard.

It’s looks so nasty…

Let me start off by saying – yes, I can type on the Korean keyboard without looking. In fact, I think I may even type faster on the Korean keyboard than the standard English one ><

I never used any of those typing games or stared at the keyboard until I remembered the key placement (does anyone actually do this)?

Instead, I bought a hangul keyboard mat and it wasn’t long before I started rapidly typing. Of course, I was slow in the beginning, but after a few weeks of using the mat I was able to type seamlessly.

I’m not a big fan of the 공진청 keyboard since I think it solidified romanization (which I hate). Not to mention, the standard 2-set keyboard that has vowels on one side and constants on the other which allows for fast typing. Not to mention, most Windows computers don’t include that romanized keyboard so it’l prove to be troublesome in the future.

Unfortunately, my mat is wearing down (fading, ripping etc.) so I decided to buy hangul keyboard stickers on eBay instead. I found that mats leave this greasy residue (gross, I know) on the keyboard and makes typing feel extremely uncomfortable if you’re not used to it. It also gets dirty really easily which gives me goosebumps…

 

I definitely recommend buying anyone who is interested in learning the Korean keyboard to use mats or stickers. It really does indue easy memorization without force – almost subconsciously, actually.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2012 8:50 am

    It’s nice there are so many cute stickers to choose from. Sadly, I found that they all come off really quickly.

    • November 9, 2012 3:11 pm

      That’s what I’m afraid of >< I don't necessarily /need/ to get hangul on my keyboard, but i think it just looks so cute haha

      The mat was pretty good… except it looks so gross since it fades away and gave this greenish look on the faded areas D:

      When I try out the stickers I just ordered, I'll be sure to let you know if they stick pretty well ^^

Leave a Reply

