Skip to content

Using a Pen and Paper

January 15, 2013

I had the most interesting experience in class. I’m not sure if it was because the extremely cold weather, or me being anxious, but my mind went almost completely blank while writing basic sentences in Japanese.

Not to mention, I completely forgot how to write Kanji that I would usually know in a heartbeat, especially the ones I use daily in Chinese class. Of course I usually practice writing down a few kanji characters in my character notebook for practice – but writing them in actual sentences with a pen and paper was just… extremely different. It was a bit difficult for me to write out a few of the hiragana since the last time I wrote Japanese on a piece of paper was in… 2011 :<

I was so dependent on using technology as a way to practice and record things in Japanese so using a pen and paper to write was totally different. It almost felt I hadn’t learned a single word Japanese before haha I think there is a gap between the fingers and and brain when people type instead of write.

Of course, while using a phone or computer we can recognize certain things like, Kanji, but can we recall them completely and replicate them without any external guidance?

My class requires compositions throughout the semester so I’ll be sure to practice my writing skills again.

I recommend everyone to starting writing because there really is a difference in the way we store information when using a pen and pencil compared to keys on a keyboard. It feels more…solid and concrete since the speaker has to create the ?

Has anyone had this happen to them before?

PS. Sorry for all the recent Japanese related posts ;;; I’ll be sure to focus on Korean and Chinese soon >:D

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2013 8:07 pm

    Of course, I’ve been feeling this sensation before… I also learn Chinese and Korean (my Chinese is way more better than my Korean). I don’t have any problem writtting Chinese Basic Characters, but when it comes to more advance characters or those ones I have just type in Lang-8, or my blog, etc. I feel like a block and I can’t carry on writting the character, even though I could visualize it on my mind… Sometimes it’s a little frustating, although just need more practice!
    화이팅!

    • January 17, 2013 3:08 am

      I like how you mentioned that you could visualize the character. It’s totally the same for me OTL I can recognize more advanced characters in a heartbeat but writing them is a whole different story haha!

Leave a Reply

