Skip to content

Get a Korean iTunes Account

March 10, 2013
tags:

Please note that this method no longer works. However, you may use an international gift card and skip the credit card requirement altogether.

I’m sure most of you Apple fans out there have experienced this – wanting to purchase apps or music from another country iTunes store that wasn’t available in yours.

IMG_1762

Luckily, I finally found a loop hole that works without using credit cards/gift cards.

  1. Log out of your iTunes account if you’re already logged in
  2. Switch to the Korean iTunes store (change your country by scrolling down to your country’s flag and clicking it)
  3. On the right column click on ‘코드 교환’ (redeem card).
  4. Click on the sign up button when the pop up appears.
  5. Sign up like you normally would
  6. When the payment options page appears, the gift card option should be available.
  7. You won’t need to enter a gift card, instead you should be able to skip it by just entering a Korean address
  8. You’ll receive a confirmation email.
  9. Download/purchase anything to your heart’s desire and feel free to change your iTunes account on your other Apple devices as well

And that’s it! I recommend you all to do this for any country you’d like to get apps, music, etc from ASAP because they might find a way to stop this loophole again :/

NOTE: Korean iTunes store does not sell music!

Please comment below if you have any questions or problems while creating an account. I’ll do my best to help ^^

EDIT: Make sure you do this on your computer, not iPhone or other mobile devices.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Yvonna permalink
    March 15, 2013 4:11 am

    It didn’t work for me. Am I missing a step? I’m at the gift code box. Thanks so much for this blog.

    • March 15, 2013 4:44 am

      You should be able to skip the gift code box if you enter the other required information. Are you on the page that asks for you address? If so, it should work…

      • Robert permalink
        October 18, 2013 11:19 pm

        Are you able to actually purchase items or are you only able to download the free apps?

  2. abi permalink
    August 2, 2014 1:54 pm

    Hi! Can you do me a favor? I can’t really see the ‘none’ button i mean there isn’t 😦 can you make me instead? any emails i can use to download korean apps pls~ thank you!!

  3. Gabi permalink
    September 20, 2014 2:54 am

    Hi, I can’t do that either 😦

  4. Tyler permalink
    January 8, 2015 5:46 pm

    Hi, It’s not letting me choose the Korean flag on the ITunes store. Whenever I click the Korean flag it says “You are unable to access the Korean iTunes store”

    • January 8, 2015 6:05 pm

      Hmm… did you try logging out first? I tried it on my computer and it still lets me switch countries.

  5. February 15, 2015 1:31 pm

    This doesnt work anymore, for whatever reason iTunes Korea now requires you put input a credit card number even if you click “redeem”

    • February 15, 2015 5:00 pm

      You’re right… I think the new iTunes update doesn’t allow users to create accounts without credit cards.
      Fortunately, I believe you still don’t need a credit card (but you you need a gift card from the selected region which are easy to purchase these day).

      I will update this post. Thank you for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

