Skip to content

Tenso Forwarding Service

March 21, 2013

스크린샷 2013-03-20 오후 6.47.44Since I have been recently getting into Japanese culture again, I wanted to try ordering some products from online.

IMG_0062

I ordered:

UNIQLO custom t-shirt
UNIQLO altered white jeans

UNIQLO Navy Cardigan

Fine Boys Magazine back issue

Choki Choki Magazine back issue

I heard of Tenso before, so I really wanted to try out the service. Basically, Tenso is a Japanese mail forwarding service that gives you a Japanese address that you can ship all your items too. Once all your desired items have reached the warehouse, you pay a shipping and service fee to get those items sent to your real address.

IMG_0068

Can you recognize the octopus?

All my purchases came either from Amazon.co.jp or UNIQLO. I didn’t want to order a lot since the shipping costs were adding up in my queue page. I thought that the shipping would be reduced if I consolidated all my packaged, and that didn’t seem to be the case. You don’t have to consolidate your items into one package, but I think it would have been more troublesome to get them separately. Just a heads up, there is a consolidation fee.

IMG_0069 Unfortunately, I also ordered hair dye, but it wasn’t able to ship since it contained some chemicals that weren’t allowed for international shipping. But that was ok since everything was successfully received.

IMG_0071

These pants were altered for me!

I’m so happy with my purchases – my cardigan and pants are so high quality and so comfortable haha Not to mention, it was so fun actually ordering from Japanese websites and having my own Japanese address while doing so.

IMG_0072

Look at the cute logo from the package Fineboys magazine came in

Overall, I would definitely recommend Tenso if you really need to buy something from Japan that isn’t sold on American online stores, or if you know you’ll be making multiple purchases from online Japanese stores. I wouldn’t recommend it if you don’t want to items to be opened up prior to being sent to you – mine were actually open to check the contents (and to prepare for consolidation), but I didn’t have a problem. The shipping does add up quite a bit since they use EMS. But then again, sometimes it’s definitely worth biting the cost haha 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. irononreverse permalink
    June 3, 2013 2:22 pm

    Hi, I was wondering, when you ordered from Uniqlo.com/jp, did you need to enter your billing address?

    I’ve just ordered using Tenso details and the transaction seems to have gone through ok without me entering my billing address.

    Unfortunately, I accidentally picked the delivery date instead of leaving it blank so it’s currently apparently being held at the delivery depot for about a week…

    Would be nice to get it showing up on Tenso, just so I can be sure.

    • June 4, 2013 1:16 pm

      Yes I did have to enter my billing address – I believed I used tenso’s address. I think it should be fine even though you picked a delivery date since there should be someone available to sign for it. If anything you should contact tenso ASAP since they do recommend shopping with uniqlo.

      • irononreverse permalink
        June 4, 2013 8:43 pm

        Thanks for the reply, I was mainly worried that using Tenso’s address for billing would cause issues due to it not matching my actual card address but the order seems to be ok now.

  2. February 13, 2015 1:45 am

    HI my name is Misaki from japan
    I have stared new service called SAMURAI BUYER same as Tenso

    http://samuraibuyer.jp/en/
    cheaper than them !

    Thanks

    • February 13, 2015 2:19 am

      Hi Misaki! Does Samurai Buyer also handle pre-ordering products?

      If I do purchase something, I would love to review my experience on this blog!

      • February 13, 2015 3:46 am

        Hi Gamcho
        Thanks for you reply
        Yes as long as the product can be pre order on amazon
        it is possible !
        pls specify the name of product i will check for you

Leave a Reply

