Skip to content

I wish there was a Korean book club for foreigners

August 9, 2013
tags:

For the past hour or so, I have been reading a book I got from Korea called 아벨의 섬 (It’s an american children’s book that has been translated into Korean).

While reading, I was thinking how cool it would be to start a book club for foreigners that focuses on Korean books. That way everyone can  stay motivated and can solidify their understanding of each chapter.  And by Korean books, I mean strictly books in Korean. Reading translated books would render a Korean book club because English resources for the books would be readily available for use anyway.

Well, the only problem I guess I can see with this is that it would be a little difficult to pinpoint a book that caters to everyone’s reading abilities? But maybe the whole group can gradually read more and more difficult books? Also, it can be more challenging to purchase books for some people – whether it be the cost or unavailability in their country.

And how would the book club be operated? Through forums? Through web chatting? Blog posts? Actually I think blog posts would be an extremely plausible option. I’d create a separate blog post each “book club meeting” every week, and everyone can comment on it with their input. Of course, since it’s not a school class or anything, it’ll be casual.

Just my wishful thinking, I guess :p

(I’m ordering a 소설 as I’m writing this haha)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2013 11:20 am

    Korean book club is an awesome idea! It’ll surely motivate us to finish the novel we’ve started to read. And the members can suggest what Korean novel is good

  2. August 9, 2013 1:40 pm

    I like this idea! 😀 It would help me get an idea of what Korean novel to pick up instead of going to the bookstore and going, “eenie meenie miney THIS ONE!” Plus it’s a great way for language learners to motivate each other and keep in contact.

  3. conjuretwilight permalink
    August 9, 2013 6:33 pm

    I’d so love that if it happened! I have been wanting to read a Korean book for a while now. Also, it would really help with building a strong community, which is amazing.

  4. August 10, 2013 1:01 am

    I also think this is great! We’d be more motivated if we know others read the same thing as we do. And our ideas on particular chapters/books will be expanded. Plus, we’ll meet other learners who share the same passion. 🙂

  5. August 15, 2013 5:07 pm

    If we’re interested, how can we get a copy of the book? I live in the US.

    • August 18, 2013 10:22 pm

      Try hanbooks.com – they have quite a few translated and bilingual books. Also, check your local college. Most colleges offer an national/international library catalogue.

Leave a Reply

