Skip to content

Let’s start a bookclub!

August 9, 2013

Wow!

I was extremely elated when I found that my blog post about starting a Korean book club got positive feedback from you guys ^^ Click here if you’d like to find out more. Because you showed interest, I decided to make it official – we will be having a Korean book club~~

Once again, I’m thinking about formally starting this “book club” on this blog. Of course, if more people decide to join I can create a forum or a seperate blog just for us 😛 But since we’re a small group… weekly or biweekly blog posts here should suffice

Since I don’t really know where you guys are in terms of reading ability, I figured reading a newly released 소설 would be ok….

Please feel free to comment below with any suggestions/concerns you have. I’m open with anything since this club is for our benefit, right!? I was thinking about creating a mailist, but I think if we keep this very simple, none of us will feel too obligated. Plus, keeping things more simple means more study time!

But because we’re just getting started, please email me at redbeans94 [@] gmail.com if you’re interested. That way we can decide more effectively on a group on what book we should read, how long it’ll take us to read it, etc since using the comments sort of limit us with this.

Most importantly…. let’s have FUN with this! 🙂

PS. Once all of you have emailed me and we decide on a book in set schedule, I’ll update all the basic information below since I don’t want to flood everyone with these posts.


BOOK: Charlotte’s Web Korean Edition (샬롯의 거미줄)

NEXT MEETING:  POSTPONED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

CHAPTER ASSIGNMENT: 1-3

3 Comments leave one →
  1. angy permalink
    August 10, 2013 3:03 am

    I’m not sure if I’m at a novel reading level because there’s still a lot of vocab I don’t know but this is an interesting idea!! And it totally makes me want to try to really read a whole novel. What kind of level(?) would you say is suitable for trying to read a novel? Maybe I can join in later on +___+

    • August 10, 2013 5:00 am

      Well, I’m not sure what the levels are in terms of foreign language skills (I usually hate classifying learners in terms of levels), but if you can read news articles and/or children’s books without difficulty then you should be able to read novels without much hardship. Of course it’s really easy to learn new vocab through novels since there are lots of contextual clues, so I would definitely encourage it! Don’t limit yourself too much 😀 It also depends on the kind of novel – some use really uncommon language while others will use more modern language that’s easier for Korean learners to understand. And we’ll be waiting for you in case you decide to ever join us *^^*

  2. August 28, 2013 8:20 pm

    Hi Gamcho! I found your blog link on hangukdrama. Just read through your entire archive and I am inspired by the hard work you put into learning languages! I found out my local library has a copy of 샬롯의 거미줄 so if I can borrow it, I might join you for book club. Stay awesome.

Leave a Reply

