Skip to content

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage in Korean

September 15, 2013

I finished 색채가 없는 다자키 쓰쿠루와 그가 순례를 떠난 해, written by the brilliant Haruki Murakami, whilst sipping on my green tea frap at the bookstore today.

I actually finished this book much earlier than I planned to. I was supposed to read only a chapter a day, but ended up reading like 5 chapters a day… thanks Murakami :p It took me around a week to a week and a half to finish it.

I didn’t have much difficulty with this book as I thought I would – I mean, it’s Murakami we’re talking about. Not to mention, it’s not even written in my native language for heaven’s sakes. I only struggled with a couple of pages, but I can’t complain since I would have probably struggle with those pages even if it was in English.

It’s times like these that I’m happy that I study Korean. Because I’m familiar with the Korean language, I was able to read Murakami’s book even though it hasn’t been translated in English yet. In this sense, Korean has gave me an opportunity that most people don’t have – reading Murakami’s books ahead of most Americans and other English-speaking countries. It’s silly that such a trite advantage like that makes me feel appreciative… but it does. In fact, I think it’s feelings like these that make learning a foreign language worth learning.

DSC01702

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2013 3:59 am

    Wow I think it’s a huge accomplishment to be able to read Murakami in Korean! Which level would you rate this book at?

    • November 15, 2013 3:38 am

      Thanks! That really means a lot! 🙂

      It actually isn’t that difficult in terms of understanding the content on a surface level – Murakami uses really simple words and brief sentences. But of course, like all his other books, analyzing the book for deeper meaning is something completely different.

      I think you should totally try reading it for the experience!

Leave a Reply

