Skip to content

I’m a Language Major!

October 8, 2013

It’s official… today I passed my GRE!

Ah, I feel so free!

This was an extremely hard journey from me, and I’m sure all of you who follow me on Twitter will know this as well. These past 4 months have been extremely stressful and very mentally/physically/emotionally draining. It was so hard for me to go to school knowing that something was holding me back from continuing my education. Trying to smile when I felt like everything was going wrong… It took a lot of patience and energy, but I overcame it and managed to pass my test with a higher score than my program required.

I hope I don’t offend anyone by saying this, but I think a foreign language degree is a complete and utter waste of time – that is, unless you make it lucrative.I’d rather not give a lot of details right now, but I can definitely say I’m doing exactly that. A degree in a foreign language won’t give you any extra advantages that a good old certification test (JLPT, TOPIK, etc) wouldn’t. In fact, I think standardized test are better at measuring proficiency than college degrees. Not to mention, most jobs and colleges overseas look for scores in these programs.

For most of us, finding our path in life can be very complicated and unclear. I know it isn’t easy. It took quite sometime to figure out what I wanted to do with my own life. During these past few months, I have learned that letting life unfold and staying positive is the key in doing so.

Moral of the story: Be persevering, be patient, work hard/smart, stay positive, and major in something useful.

One Comment leave one →
  1. help me permalink
    October 10, 2013 4:31 pm

    helloo i realy need help in something 😦 i want sign uo in tistory please send me an invite i;m begging you 😦

Leave a Reply

