Skip to content

Finished my First Japanese Novel

December 26, 2013

Yesterday I was  able to watch Fuji TV’s 恋するイブ ! I woke up yesterday to a LINE message from Chiba talking about the broadcast, which made me realize that I missed it by a few minutes since he sent it while I was sleeping. Fortunately, someone uploaded the whole movie in HQ by the evening so I was able to watch the whole thing.

스크린샷 2013-12-25 오후 12.25.39

Loved Junpei’s hair!

I really enjoyed the film despite the endless subliminal advertising for Disney Tokyo and extremely cheesy ending. There were so many different storylines between couples and families, so it felt really short…. but other than that I really loved it. If you’re in the mood to watch a light Japanese movie with some really cute actors, I totally recommend you watch this one. I was able to understand everything without subtitles because the dialogues were very short and clear.

Today I finished my first Japanese book, “Kiki’s Delivery Service”! For some reason, it took me quite some time to completely read. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m still a beginner in Japanese, the vertical text, or just be being plain lazy. On the other hand, thanks to Japanese I didn’t have to spend time highlighting or recording vocabulary so I could enjoy reading without too much hassle.

I think because I watched the movie prior to reading the book, it made some parts of the book extremely  confusing because I kept expecting the book to follow the same plot as the movie. The next time I read a Japanese book I will make sure to not watch the movie first if such adaptation does exist.

DSC01824

Nonetheless, I really do feel accomplished. My goal was to finish the book by the 31st, and I finished it 6 days before. I read 10-13 pages a day, and before I knew it I was done! If I did not set up a set amount of pages to read per day, there would have been no way for me to read the whole novel since I think it would have been a bit overwhelming.

Also, my Korean JLPT books should be coming in by the end of the week, so I am super excited 🙂 I might write up a quick review if anyone is interested…. I don’t know how many of you are taking the JLPT or are interested in taking it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2013 11:58 pm

    Congratulations! I remember watching the Miyazaki version of Kiki’s Delivery Service so I was surprised when I looked it up on amazonjp to find out there’s a series to it. I thought it would be one book haha. I’d love to pick them up though since it’s a childhood favorite of mine.

    I’m gonna lie in wait for that app to hopefully become free again (or at least cheaper). I have a couple of android ones on my tablet, but I have to use one for drawing the kanji and another two looking up the word so it’s a bit of a hassle. OTL

    I’m aiming for N3 next year. Which level are you taking?

    • December 28, 2013 2:22 am

      I was also shocked to find out that there was a series~ In my opinion the books are more magical than Miyazaki’s adaptation, but I love both! I think you would like to read them as well 😀

      I would also wait until the app is free since I personally don’t believe in paying for apps haha

      Unfortunately, I’m actually not going to take the JLPT since I live extremely far from all the testing centers… but the books I’ll be getting will cover the N2 level. I originally was planning to buy N3 material, but after scanning through all the books I felt like it didn’t suit me all that well since my Japanese knowledge is so skewed after self-teaching and classes ><

      Let me know how the test goes! I know you'll do great 🙂

      • December 28, 2013 9:36 pm

        I can’t wait to read how everything is described in Japanese. The many ways you can word things because of how the language works and the culture rooted into different phrases will make it so interesting. It’s why I’m so eager to get my hands on my first Japanese novel. 😀

        Yes! I’m a believer of free apps! (And food… and clothes… free everything basically.)

        Aw, I hope more testing centers are available in the future. I hope you’ll enjoy your new books (and do a review so I can go, “omg laerning material”).

        I think I’m on the same boat. After self-teaching and classes it’s like I’m in two levels at once where one foot is more in one level and the other is just idek.

        Thanks! I hope I do well orz

Trackbacks

  1. Doing vs. Living: A Self-Realization « Illinois Study Abroad News

Leave a Reply

