Skip to content

Amazon Order: Gay Cooking and Yasuda Shota

May 12, 2014

Hope you liked the title! Thought I’d jazz it up a bit. I wonder how many perverted people are gonna visit this post 🙄

ANYWAY…

DSC02188

Trust me when I say this – I’m not a shopping addict. I live in an area where coming across international books is extremely challenging. As an avid reader, this is an annoying problem.  And with Amazon JP shipping, it’s better to order more than one item to get the most out of $$$ you pay for shipping.

As per usual, I ordered the FINEBOYS magazine for this month. FINEBOYS JUNE 2014 features 安田章大 on the cover. I’m loving all the コーデ for this month. They includes lots of vibrant/contrasted floral and tropical patterns, sweet pastel colors, along long-sleeve shirt  + shorts combos. I’m already getting inspired!

I found out that FINEBOYS appeals caters for wearers of   奇麗め or kireime, which is a very minimalistic/conversational dress style. Totally didn’t know there was a word for that style~

DSC02190

The whole reason for this purchase was because I needed a new book to read with summer vacation starting. I tried searching Amazon and Booklog for any book recommendations, but couldn’t find anything that caught my attention.

I ended up just searching on google with two things that I like in a story: 料理   +   BL

And that is exactly how I came across 料理男子の愛情レシピ. Reviews all over the internet were extremely positive so I HAD to read it. I mean, what could be better than reading 5 star novel about a homosexual relationship based off food?

DSC02187

クッキングスクールで講師を務める牧野周の教室に、珍しく男性の生徒が入学してきた。料理を真摯に学ぶ爽やかで端正なその青年・夏川光司に一目で恋をしてしまう周。強く惹かれていく気持ちを抑えられない一方で、ノン気の夏川の相手として自分は相応しくないと悩み、素直に好きだと言い出せない。やがて、夏川の衝撃的な秘密を知ってしまった周は、彼の幸せのために身を引く覚悟をするが・・・・・・!?

A dazzling male student enrolls in Professor Amane Makino’s classroom at cooking school. A handsome and refreshing young man that sincerely wants to learn how to cook ・Amane, whom falls in love with Koiji Natsukawa at first sight. While not being able to suppress his strong attraction, Amane is worried that that heterosexual Koiji may not be be a suited partner so he cannot come out and say he likes him. But before long, will Amane be prepared to back out out after finding out about Koiji’s shocking secret in order to keep him happy?

Sounds interesting? The first chapter already has proven to be extremely dramatic! I’m actually trying my best to read as slow as I can so I don’t finish it too quickly :p

Since school is coming to an end, I have also been watching First Class, which features 中丸雄一 from Kat-tun.  Every time there is a sub for his character’s thoughts, it’s just 「………..」haha!! But in all seriousness, after finishing episode 2 and 3 I’m 99.9% sure he’s a sex slave?! Not sure what’s backstory is, but I hope that it’ll be revealed soon because I’m so curious!

I’m not watching it with subs, but I can literally understand every single sentence… AKA if I can understand it so can you. Personally, I feel that Japanese dramas are way easier to understand than Korean dramas… I’m not going to say this drama is great. I’m not big fan of dramas or movies that revolve around the “fashion industry” (shocking!!)

In fact it’s kind of annoying because of all the witches and the constant cut scenes to character thoughts. I mostly watch it for for listening practice and 中丸雄一  haha!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2014 8:41 am

    Hello! ^^ I came across your blog a few days ago and really enjoy reading your posts about what you’re currently reading/watching 🙂 I’m a Japanese student myself, always on the look-out for new books/shows etc to check out. Been watching First Class too and it’s good isn’t it haha! I really enjoyed the first three episodes though I agree, the cut scenes with the characters’ thoughts are a bit unnecessary/get annoying. I mostly just watch my dramas for listening practices too but I do enjoy a great deal of them ^^.

    • May 13, 2014 2:27 pm

      Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for the sweet message! I always assume my posts are boring for everyone 😦

      First Class has proven to actually be faster paced and really dramatic unlike most j dramas I have seen, so I’m definitely going to have to keep watching 🙂

      PS. I just visited your blog, and I’m so glad you’re doing drama reviews! You got yourself a new reader ^*^

  2. May 23, 2014 11:28 am

    I love the Japanese male magazines because the fashion is quite casual but still works well. Wish it was more like this in British magazines.

Leave a Reply

