Skip to content

N1 콕콕찍어주마 문법 is my June Life

June 19, 2014

DSC02379

In spirits of summer vacation, I decided to buy 4 Japanese N1 textbooks.

This past week or so, I have been using my textbooks religiously. Out of all the textbooks I would have to say that the one I use the most is the N1 문법 textbook.

I’m addicted.

I usually read passages and do some listening exercises from the other textbooks but I immerse myself in the grammar textbook throughout the whole day. These days, I’m on the computer more than usual because of online classes. Being so, I like to take breaks every 15 minutes or so and skim through grammar structures and attempt to memorize them and make up sentences in my head. I find it really fun to read all example sentences with Korean translations, not sure why! I never thought I was much a grammar person, :p

I’ll usually only go through the questions when I’m studying in a more organized fashion in the morning and have studied all grammar structures that will be tested in each section.

I really like how the book lists N2 and N3 grammar structures in the “문자 해결 키워드” snippets that are included in the passage questions. It is  like a little review for past levels. Great for someone like me who just skipped through them. I’m  also relieved to find out that my ability in answering sentence sequence questions are not as bad as I originally thought.

These days I’m feeling very discouraged because my reading comprehension is horrible with page long articles. I decided to finish the second half of the articles in my N2콕콕찍어주마 독해 book because I didn’t want to rush into the long articles in the N1 book. On average I maybe around 1 or 2 questions out of 3 correct. I think I need to familiarize myself with how the correct answer looks like. I’m still using strategies from the GRE which totally don’t work for the JLPT. I also need to do some research on how to go about the reading sections on the JLPT because of time restriction. I also have to keep reminding myself that I jumped to the N1 and N2 levels after 1 year of studying Japanese so I shouldn’t be too hard on myself, right?!

In other news, I finally have time to read my novel I bought earlier this month yesterday. I passed 100 pages so hopefully I’ll be able to finish it before the month ends.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2014 11:49 pm

    Is this to learn Japanese through Korean ?

    • June 26, 2014 11:56 pm

      Yes, you are correct!

      • June 27, 2014 12:10 am

        Do you recommend it if I’m a beginner still in Korean just to advance my studies ? Also what book do you recommend to use in conjunction with Korean Grammar for Beginners ? Thanks you soo much for the feedback

      • June 27, 2014 1:05 am

        The explanations and translations are all in plain Korean. So without a good grasp in Korean, the textbook will be difficult and almost useless, I would think. Maybe you can wait a little?

        I’m not familiar with “Korean Grammar for Beginners”, but I think maybe a reading book such as the Yonsei Readers would be a good supplement.

        They have different levels, ranging from beginner to advanced 🙂

Leave a Reply

