Skip to content

日本語の単語リストが1000語を超えました

June 28, 2014

Last night while studying with my grammar textbook, I realized that my Japanese vocabulary notebook (my virtual list on my iPhone) had exceeded over 1000 words. It may not seem like a lot, but it really is when it’s a personal and hand-picked list. This means that I encountered 1000 words I did not recognize.

I made a separate list for 擬態語 and 擬音語 because I think they are more fun to study by themselves. It’s how we learned them in my Advanced Japanese Readings class, and I found it really made it easier to memorise.

image

Unlike my physical vocabulary notebooks, I feel like this electronic method is easier for me to review words because I can just sit on my phone and keep scrolling through. I also don’t have to worry about any errors when transcribing sentences and definitions to a notebook– you never know when you might write a word incorrectly or  write an illegible kanji character . Ain’t nobody got time for that.

Do you have a vocabulary notebook/list? If so, how many words have you recorded and do you prefer using a good ol’ pen and paper, or electronically?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Caniche permalink
    June 28, 2014 6:32 pm

    I prefer using the electronic method for vocabulary lists as well. I feel that I’d never go back to review words if I were to use a paper notebook for that. ^^ It’s also very practical to carry around inside the smartphone and use when commuting.

    • June 28, 2014 6:44 pm

      Thanks for commenting 😀

      You are very right! I love studying when I’m commuting to school because I find it more productive than just scrolling through Twitter or Facebook :p

Leave a Reply

