Skip to content

Japanese/Korean Blog Community

June 29, 2014

I have a very important proposal for everyone!

Why not create a Japanese or Korean blogging community for that creates a comment exchange and + an easily accessible directory?! Such collectives exist for English blogs, so I think it would be extremely beneficial to make one aimed at language learners.

This is how it works:

  1. You will write in either Korean or Japanese, and will have to write comments in the respective language. The trick is, you have to get it corrected on Lang-8 before you publish it in order to make sure it is not filled with mistakes. Any length is fine.
  2. Comment on a blog within the community and get some in return
  3. Repeat this process every two weeks (I think this is extremely feasible)

Their are so many benefits with this:

  • You are able to improve your writing abilities with constant and forced practice.
  • By reading a blog post, and by commenting you are expressing that you were able to comprehend the passage and maybe carry a light discussion in the comments section with the blog writer and other commenters.
  • It creates a live blog that gets comments.
  • Lets us help each other

I know most of us don’t have practice readily available – only textbooks to study with. This changes all of that. Reading and listening are completely different than speaking and writing – you have to come up with content yourself which is why some of are so lazy when it comes to this part of studying. Let’s change this!

Once enough people decide to join, I’ll create a directory somewhere so it’ll be easier to access blogs.

스크린샷 2014-06-29 오후 1.05.05

My blog creation in process…

So the question is, would anyone be interested in starting in joining such collective? And because we are just starting out, I think it would be beneficial to focus on either Japanese or Korean for now. We can move onto the other language once we get enough people to join.

If you are interested in participating, please comment below and vote in the poll above so I can get an overall view on this project. I really want to see this project become a real thing – I think it would be a really valuable community for Japanese/Korean language learners. Also, please feel free to share any suggestions/ideas. Let’s help each other and have fun with this!  ❤

5 Comments leave one →
  1. almantina permalink
    June 29, 2014 8:46 pm

    I agree with your idea and would like to participate. It seems like it would be hard at first, but eventually there will be progress.
    So, let’s do it. ^^

  2. Caniche permalink
    June 29, 2014 9:08 pm

    I think that’s a good idea and I’d really like to participate! ^u^ I’m voting for Japanese because I can’t write Korean at all. u__u I hope many bloggers join!

  3. June 29, 2014 11:36 pm

    That is a really great project! Thank you for taking the initiative! I would like to participate too. I would be writing in Japanese first.

  4. June 30, 2014 6:43 pm

    Thanks for the feedback you guys! It seems like Japanese was the more popular language to start with, so I have started a Japanese blog collective 😀

    If you would like to join, please visit https://gamcho.wordpress.com/japanese-blogging

    Because we’re testing this out, feel free to send me comments with suggestions/changes on that page.

Trackbacks

  1. Japanese blog | Almantina and languages

Leave a Reply

