Skip to content

1st Honto Purchase + Womanless Men

September 25, 2014

Recently, I was out of reading material so I wanted to order some new books. I didn’t want to spend a fortune on shipping so I decided to try an online store that wasn’t Amazon Japan. The shipping price was actually a little more expensive than Amazon, but it was worth trying I guess.

First, I ordered 好きなら一緒  written by 火崎 勇先生 which is BL novel that focuses around rival coworkers and a child. Due to the death of his sister and brother-in-law, Negishi was left to care for their only child. The coworker rival, Moshi, ends up assisting clumsy and untrained-in-the-art-of-housework Negishi with domestic chores and childcare. I thought this was a super sweet story – it’s something that I actually drafted in my own thoughts!

Title: 好きなら一緒 (クロスノベルス)

ISBN: 978-4773086331

DSC02563

I also ordered 武内直子先生’s  7th volume of the  Sailor Moon 完全版 manga collection which contains the first half of the Dream Arc (equivalent to the 90’s anime “Sailor Moon SuperS”, which happens to be my favorite season!) just to make use of the overpriced shipping that FedEx charges. The part I’m reading right now is so cozy! Pegasus is giving ちびうさ a ride over the city in her dream. I can already feel the future romance!

Title : 美少女戦士セーラームーン 完全版(7)

ISBN: 978-4-06-364941-3

DSC02567

I have always admired how Naoko Takeuchi confidently plays with gender and sexuality.

Actually, originally I ordered a book for my school library but it took over a month to come which is why I had to place an order for the BL novel and Sailor Moon manga. The rental arrived yesterday, so I started reading it before the Honto package arrived today.

The book is Haruki Murakami’s new short story collection that was released earlier this year called 女のいない男たち (Men without Women). Because this is a library book, I will have to finish reading it before I start on my purchases. I started it yesterday, and it is already hard for me to put down!

Title: 女のいない男たち

ISBN: 978-4163900742

DSC02565

I find that I enjoy Japanese books way more than Korean ones. Does anyone feel the same? I’m not sure if this is because there is a difference in my language ability or if it is the style of the writers or the actual language. Japanese stories usually feel more warm to me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. almantina permalink
    September 25, 2014 8:10 pm

    I also like Japanese authors more. I read a couple of Korean authors so far and I didn’t like their style.

    • September 26, 2014 3:31 pm

      So it’s not just me! I can’t remember any Korean authors of books I have read, but I am able to name a few of my favorite Japanese authors.

      • almantina permalink
        September 28, 2014 3:29 pm

        You read them in original language? My skills are far from allowing me to read fiction comfortably.

      • September 28, 2014 6:08 pm

        I only read books in Korean and Japanese, not English.

        I’m sure you can read just fine – don’t underestimate your skills! 🙂

        I found that the more I challenge myself, the more I am able to read comfortably later on.

Leave a Reply

