Skip to content

Murakami Dream and Doushitemo

October 6, 2014

One of my dreams was to read a book written by Haruki Murakami’s in Japanese.

I remember when I was in high school, I took an English 102 course at the neighborhood community college. We were discussing in smalls groups about a section in Murakami’s novel, “The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle”. One of the questions asked by my professors was what irregularities may arise when reading the story.  I remember telling my group that reading the English translated version of the story may be prove to be inconsistent in getting the full meaning or tone of the passages, even if it was translated to the best ability. My group members all agreed and mentioned that they never thought of that. In that exact moment, I wondered what it would be like to read Murakami’s story in Japanese – at that time, I had not studied Japanese so it was completely out of the question.

But here I am 3-4 years later,  just finished reading Murakami’s newest short story collection “女のいない男たち” in Japanese. I’m not one to take things for granted, so I am extremely thankful that I was given the ability and resources to fulfill this dream.

It didn’t take as long as I thought it would for me to finish it. It took around two weeks but school kept me super busy so I was only able to read while I waited for classes to start. I really enjoy reading his books in Japanese rather than Korean. I think this is because I am able to understand more when reading Japanese novels.

My favorite story in this short story collection would have to be “Scheherazade”, which involves, tampons, pencils, and past-life recollections of living as an eel.

I think are a few important lessons for myself to take away from this event:

  • It’s very important to have dreams, without them we have nothing to work towards. No dream is too big or small.
  • Secondly, don’t underestimate your abilities – instead, challenge yourself. Let other people underestimate you.
  • Don’t take anything for granted. Keeping praying and thanking.

Last night I watched a Japanese movie for the first time in a while called どうしても触れたくない. It is a BL movie based on the manga series by ヨネダコウ先生. Like most people, I do not feel comfortable watching explicit scenes. Fortunately this one only had one “passionate” scene, and it was really toned down.

I’m not sure if it was because of the excessive self-pity and crying, or the dramatic antics, but the acting from the protagonist seemed way too cheesy/forced. However, the actor (米原幸佑) reminds me of one of my past passions, so I will let it slide. Just a heads up, this film is not action-packed and there is barely a climax in the plot. It’s a really quiet and pleasant story, something you can play in the background – which I totally love.

I recently found out that 昨夜のカレー、明日のパン has been made into an NHK drama. I ran into this title a couple of times while browsing books online so I was really excited when I came across this on the NHK website. I think I will skip out on my other novel that I purchased for now, and pick this book up at the library. I really think it’ll be fun to read the book and watch the drama. Actually, one of my favorite actors, 溝端淳平 stars in the drama as a minor character.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

