Skip to content

Winter Break Start: Shaved Ice Whale, Pokémon, and more

December 15, 2014
DSC02728

The Mars transformation pen is actually a real pen that you can use to write!

My winter break has officially started today. And because school breaks are the only time I have to study Japanese, I wanted to make sure to have a book to read for entertainment and learning purposes. Yesterday I picked up a book called 凍りのくじら written by 辻村深月 (Mizuki Tsujimura) at the library. I don’t remember why I chose this book, but I think it was because it was really popular at one point. Originally I wanted to read a mystery book called みんなの少年探偵団 because of the oddly nostalgic cover art similar to the books I read as a child. Sadly, my library didn’t have the resources to get this book.

DSC02673

Speaking of nostalgia, my pre-order from HMV arrived a few weeks ago. It was the new Pokemon re-make “Pokemon Alpha Sapphire”. HMV gave a few gifts to those who pre-ordered early – a figurine and keychain. When I was in third grade I played Pokemon Ruby, but the pirates in Sapphire always seemed really fun to me.

DSC02682

One of the new additions that are included in the new Pokémon games is the ability to select the language the player would like to play in – this makes it great for language learners. If the Japanese feature is chosen, the kanji option can be toggled on and off. Korean is also available. I think playing video games in a different language trains you to read the language faster and faster.

My first “confession” I received:

I recreated my childhood from age 8-10 this weekend – Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire and listening to Kylie Minogue’s Fever album brought back wonderful cloudy and sprinkling spring memories. It must have been the universe’s way of letting me reliving the good memories of my childhood again.

スクリーンショット 2014-12-14 12.30.59

Lately, I have been watching Japanese dramas with Japanese subtitles. My favorite one this season is きょうは会社休みます。 Actually, it is the only drama that kept me watching episode after episode. I think this is because I tend to picture myself as a future 30 year old never-been-kissed virgin so I can relate to the plot and main character. It is quirky, romantic, and totally relatable in so many ways.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2014 2:22 am

    It’s very cool that you’re studying Japanese. がんばって!

Leave a Reply

