Skip to content

Februrary 2015 Book 「きみの背中 ぼくの手のひら」 Yomiowari

March 3, 2015

I finished  きみの背中 ぼくの手のひら, written by my favorite Japanese author 阿賀 直己 for Februrary. It seems as though I will continue my goal to read one book per month.

The story is about Togo who works at an advertising company. One day, he and his boss goes to an Italian restaurant for lunch. Togo feels a little awkward because it seems like it is a restaurant for old couples. His boss calls for the chef named Takura, and Togo falls in love at first sight. He looks too young and handsome to cook such delicious foods! Togo goes home and continues to have dreams of the cook’s white arm.

DSC02815

The cover, illustrated by ぱち is so cute and beautifully drawn. Unfortunately, it made reading this book in public a little difficult because it makes it seem as though the book is all about sex – which it is not. Not even one scene! Just mild and brief suggestions before continuing with the story. Which is why きみの背中 ぼくの手のひら is my favorite BL novel. Some authors make sex and homosexual love almost completely intertwined. There is more than just sex when it comes to homosexual love!

DSC02821

This is a character foldout included with the book!

And of course, 阿賀先生 responded to my tweet with such kind words. I love Twitter for this reason – the ability to connect with anybody!

I have ordered another one of 阿賀先生’s novel – the only one I haven’t read. I was trying to read this one a bit slow because I knew it wouldn’t arrive on time. I have to remember to place my orders earlier! Apparently it is not a BL, which is a little disappointing.

As usual, you can find the books I have read, want to read, or currently reading at my booklog here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2015 3:50 am

    I love that they responded to you on twitter! It’s great when artists and writers talk to their fans like that.

    Just looking at books in other languages makes me happy and want to keep learning. I love reading (I was the kid who came to the library every Saturday for another 20 books) so being able to read books in other languages and appreciate the differing writing styles and descriptive methods is so adkjsfalkj YAY. I’m so close to running to BookOff or BandiBooks for more novels but I should finish what I have haha. Since 阿賀 直己 is your favorite, is there any book you recommend starting with? (Even though I should get to my mini stack of 東野圭吾 novels.)

    “Some authors make sex and homosexual love almost completely intertwined. There is more than just sex when it comes to homosexual love!” ALL OF THIS! YES!

    • March 4, 2015 5:51 am

      I am exactly the same way when it comes to books! 🙂
      東野圭吾’s books look so challenging to me so I never attempted to read them.

      I would probably have to recommend ファクトリー! 香鹿と糸島の場合 even though I haven’t read it yet. I will be reading it soon, and apparently it is her most popular book.

      Thank you so much for commenting~

Leave a Reply

