Skip to content

August Book レインツリーの国

September 11, 2015

A couple of weeks ago I ordered レインツリーの国 by 有川浩, and the 2004 Sailor Moon shinsoban short stories volume #1 because I really enjoyed reading the short stories scattered throughout the originial manga and figured it would be a nice addition to my “magical girl” collection. Chibiusa’s stories are so cute – you can even find their anime adaptations (primarily in the Super S seasons).

DSC03475

Anyway, the reason I chose to read レインツリーの国 was because I saw that my favorite actress, 西内まりや, is starring in the movie that will be premiering soon.

I prefer reading books that have a movie/drama counterpart because then I can measure how much I understood from the book. Not only that, it is really cool to see the characters you pictured in your mind come time life!

The book is based on a man and a woman that end up talking online about a something they both have in common – a book series! The book takes place in the 00’s so the whole emailing stranger and meeting them in person was unordinary. The woman, Hitomi, has a secret! But you’ll have to read the book to find out (or watch the movie).

It is a really short book so I reccomend it for people haven’t read a novel in Japanese yet.

Look how small it is!

Look how small it is!

The plot was ok, but I still feel like there could have been a lot more added to it. Too much drama for nothing, in my opinion. Technically you could have read the first few pages and already know how it would end by the use of foreshadowing.

It was my first time this year reading a romance book not based on homosexual love, haha! Hmmm…..

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2015 2:52 am

    Reading your posts make me feel like taking out my Japanese novels and reading them for the whole day 😛 I have so many unread stuff on my bookshelf / looks guilty.

    I tend to favor books with anime adaptations (or vice versa) these days! Have to read No.9, Psycho Pass and あの日見た花の名前を僕達はまだ知らない。

    Are you taking JLPT this year? I’m trying for N2 this year and feel so underprepared omg.

    • October 16, 2015 6:24 pm

      Hey girl! Long time no talk~ I hope all is well.

      Awwww, that is so sweet of you! I’m glad they make you feel that way 🙂 Your posts always inspire me to read as well.

      I’m opposite – I always lean towards books that have a drama/movie adaptation. The only anime I can really sit and watch is Sailor Moon and Cardcaptors (maybe due to nostalgia?) :p Those books sounds really interesting, especially the last one! I think I might check it out 😀

      And I will be taking the JLPT this year, I doubt I can even pass N5, haha! Where I live, they only offer the test during finals week and not even in my state – which is a total bummer.

      And pleaseeee you’ll be fine for N2. In fact, I think you should shoot for N1 this year! You’re amazing at Japanese, don’t underestimate your abilities!!

      Speaking of Japanese, we really need to coordinate our next Japan trip~

Leave a Reply

